Student Committees

Executive Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Megan Ahern Sylvester and Aidan Levine

Definition of Role: The Executive Committee is primarily responsible for the oversight and communication with the individual student committees. Executive committee members will meet once per month with the MSTP administration to discuss student committee needs and overall program goals. The members of the executive committee are directly responsible for program growth and should be actively involved with all program undertakings.

Admissions Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Kevin Cheng, Danielle Sawyer, and Colin Fields

Definition of Role: The Admissions Committee is responsible for participating in the MSTP admissions process to select suitable candidates for the subsequent academic year. Student and faculty members of the admissions committee are divided among three subcommittees and are responsible for reviewing at least 10-12 applications. The committees then meet to discuss who should be selected for an interview, and student members are then responsible for interviewing approximately 4 applicants on each interview day. After interviews are over, the committee meets again to rank candidates and identify who should be invited immediately, as well as who should be placed on a waitlist.

Recruitment Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Julia Morris and Dilara Long

Definition of Role: The Recruitment Committee is responsible for the planning and coordination of recruitment activities surrounding interview days as well as outreach activities for a successful recruitment year. In general, the Recruitment Committee works closely with the admissions committee during application season. The Recruitment Committee is also responsible for scheduling outreach activities with undergraduate students and general promotion of our program to future recruits.

Wellness and Alumni Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Brittany Gratreak 

Definition of Role: The Wellness and Alumni Committee is responsible for promoting wellness, community, collaboration, and networking within the MD/PhD program by planning and hosting events throughout the year. An additional responsibility of this committee is continued communication and involvement with program alumni.

Student Progress Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Bao Thai

Definition of Role: The Student Progress Committee is a resource for students in the Program to provide guidance throughout a student’s training. Through mandatory meetings with the committee chairs and/or Program faculty, students are provided with information to help them progress along each step in their MD-PhD training. The committee chairs are a resource available to meet with students at set time points through the training and at ad hoc meetings.

Colloquium/Continuity Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: David Williams and Austen Thompson, PhD

Definition of Role: The Colloquium/Continuity Committee oversees the preparation and oversight of the monthly student “colloquia” hosted by the MD-PhD program. The committee members will fall into the student committee organizational structure established by the MD-PhD Program and will report to the Executive Committee. “Continuity” refers to continual medical education sessions, particularly aimed at graduate-phase MD-PhD students, that will be held at each colloquium, preceding, or following speaker presentations, depending on speaker availability

Retreat Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Greg Branigan and Hannah Johnson

Definition of Role: The Retreat Committee is responsible for overseeing and planning the annual summer retreat, to be held prior to the start of each academic year. Committee members will be responsible for budgeting costs of the retreat, selecting venues, speakers, and creating an agenda for the event.

APSA Membership Committee

2021-2022 Committee Members: Kendra D. Marr and Jeremiah J. Bearss, PhD

Definition of Role: To inform students about the upcoming resources and opportunities available to them through the American Physician Scientist Association (APSA) and encourage participation with other physician scientists across the country.

APSA Membership fees are covered by the program, and their list of benefits can be found at: